Condoms: Not Safe Sex

Got these from the Food and Drug Association of the US. Interesting facts that our very own Department of Health does not tell us:

DOH: Condoms are 100% safe and effective. (Heard the DOH Usec say this over at TV Patrol.)

FDA: The surest way to avoid these diseases is to not have sex altogether (abstinence). Another way is to limit sex to one partner who also limits his or her sex in the same way (monogamy). Condoms are not 100% safe, but if used properly, will reduce the risk of sexually transmitted diseases, including AIDS. Protecting yourself against the AIDS virus is of special concern becuase this disease is fatal and has no cure.

More from FDA:

What is the government doing about condom quality?

Manufacturers “spot check” their condoms using a “water-leak” test. FDA inspectors do a similar test on sample condoms they take from warehouses. The condoms are filled with water and checked for leaks. An average of 996 of 1000 condoms must pass this test.

Will a condom guarantee I won’t get a sexually transmitted disease?

No. There’s no absolute guarantee even when you use a condom. But most experts believe that the risk of getting HIV/AIDS and other sexually transmitted diseases can be greatly reduced if a condom is used properly.

In other words, sex with condoms isn’t totally “safe sex,” but it is “less risky” sex. These are what DOH should really tell us. Not spend a freaking $8M to buy condoms from the US! $8M can create freaking jobs and get these sexually active peeps busy with earning money instead of having sex. Gosh how many malnourished kids could be fed with this!!! Not to prevent 100 HIV infected Filipinos from spreading the virus! Millions of other Filipinos can benefit from food and shelter. 😥

Remember, condoms only REDUCE probability of HIV. It doesn’t exactly protect you from it. Besides, if you have HIV, why they heck do you want to spread the virus? Duh?! And a chance of getting 1 of the 4 defective condoms?!?

And the Catholic Church must have done well for our country to only report HIV cases (what, 100 of them?) just in recent years, whereas the US reported 12 million cases EACH YEAR! Correlate that with condom use (FDA statistics). Ehem.

Tagged , , ,

3 thoughts on “Condoms: Not Safe Sex

  1. Juan says:

    Maybe I am reading this incorrectly but I think the data you are presenting seems to be skewed. For the most part I don’t see any citations within your post. I guess this is acceptable since this is only a blog post, but when you talk about something as serious as this I think you could be more convincing when you cite your information. For example, you (kinda) cite the FDA saying they reported 12 million cases each year. But when you stated that people can get a defective condom 1 out 4 times, you cite nothing. How can we know this is right, and not speculation? And could you be clearer when you “correlate that with condom use,” do you mean the FDA does correlate the 12 million cases with condom users (and not just all people who are sexually active), or are u saying that we should interpret that those 12 million cases as cases that ONLY involve condom users. Please cite this fact accordingly.

    Also, could you cite the Catholic church’s report, I would like to read the specifics of that document.

    Yes I do think stating that, using condoms is completely “safe sex,” is an overstatement. But I dont think less “less risky sex” is appropriate either. That would assume that using a condom only makes sex only a bit safe. Although it is reported that only 3 percent of the people who use condoms correctly report having a pregnancy, and the 10-14% are for those who used condoms incorrectly. And regarding HIV, it is reported that the HIV virus does not pass through latex condoms, “stretched or stressed.” (I will cite at the end of this). So if you are you use condoms properly the infection should not spread.

    I just want accurate and enforced(cited) information to be spread instead of speculation and interpretation. I can understand opinion, but not lies. Hope the right information is spread!

    Oh and here is my source for what I have said so far:
    http://www.who.int/mediacentre/factsheets/fs243/en/
    My source also cites other sources from which he acquired information to strengthen his points.

  2. Juan says:

    Im sorry for double posting, but a quick follow-up. Im sorry for saying that you did not cite anything in your post. While I was writing my response I overlooked your first link. I do accept that your source says that condoms are not 100% safe, but when reading the article I can’t help but see that the article supports the usage of condoms. But I must say to improve the already >90% effectiveness (recalling the previous response, but Im sorry for not finding a proper source, I am fairly tired when writing this) you can also use the pill which also has an >90% effectiveness(although the stat is 87% but thats for people who do not use the pill properly). http://teenadvice.about.com/cs/birthcontrol/a/blbcfacts.htm

  3. teachertwish says:

    Hi Juan, I’m glad you noticed that I linked to FDA. I almost fell for the same mistake being already infuriated by your accusations of my not citing any resource until I read your second post. Thank you very much for your respect and addressing the ideas properly. I highly appreciate it.

    I didn’t say though that FDA does not recommend the use of condoms by stating those things. What I really just want clarified is that the use of condoms and other contraceptives (pill or no pill) are not safe sex. Based on the statistics that you showed here, there is no contraceptive that is 100% effective. I still rest my case: abstinence by HIV infected people will stop the disease from spreading. In the same way we tried to prevent AH1N1 when these people avoided contact and quarantined the Mexicans. Pardon my crude analogy. But thanks for sharing your thoughts. 🙂

    P.S. To all readers: I, as moderator and author of this blog, can disapprove a comment when people do not see my obvious points and are not addressing directly my statements. Otherwise, I will consider them spam.

Leave a Reply

