7 Days until May 10 Philippine Elections

A week left and I am starting to become confused with who to vote. My faith is very important to me when voting at the same time I need to be realistic.

Last night in the news, the CBCP (Catholic Bishops Conference of the Philippines) celebrated a mass for candidates who do not support the controversial RH bill. Only JC Delos Reyes, Bro. Eddie Villanueva, Jamby Madrigal and Manny Villar are present among the presidentiables. If I were to just limit my choice between these two, I’m sorry, but I’m not going to place my bet on JC and Bro. Eddie for their lack of experience and extreme idealism. As for Villar, I don’t fully trust his “pera lang ang katapat n’yan” philosophy (and so I heard from the very long grapevine). The latter shows very weak leadership skills. I want someone who can convince another intelligent human being through intelligent dialogue and not mindless monetary exchanges.

Among Gordon, Aquino, Teodoro, and Perlas, I don’t have much of a choice, or do I? I don’t want a leader who banks on surveys as a sign of success and would say that he’ll only lose due to failure of elections and will lead a people power. Egad. And I say with Cardinal Rosales on people power, it’s just crazy, crazy, crazy.

Seems like Teodoro has an edge over the rest, but I am now torn with Villar as well though he sounds as corrupt as he can be. I do appreciate Villar’s words in his latest TV advertisement, “Para sa akin, ang populasyon ay hindi pabigat, ngunit ito ay ang kayamanan ng ating bayan.” Now that’s a very bold statement and very humane. A corrupt galing at talino over a corrupt, lying, mudslinging pro-lifer.

I do believe that our leader should have a very good program for the family since we all know in our sociology classes that the family is the basic unit of society. Destroy the family, destroy the very foundation of society. We need someone who will uphold the family. But we don’t want a mudslinger either.

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

